Noor

 

Noor – Arabic for ‘light’

 

that moment

in the calm of the eternal garden, a flower blooms

atop a majestic mountain, lightening strikes

in the silence of space, a star explodes

when all else is dark, a fire burns bright

 

such, they say, is the intensity

at the heart of life

a light so bright

it would blind us

and scorch our being

did we not veil ourselves

a sensation so strong

the heart would quake

and the body explode

did we not veil ourselves

 

yet, we know it

the mystic, engulfed in divine light

the lovers, their bodies locked in union

the mother, her baby cosy at her breast

the poet, his being effaced in his own creation

 

the secret of life

and of death

unveils itself in self-effacement

for some, ever so softly

for others, in a dance of madness..

~ by tdcatss on October 7, 2011.

4 Responses to “Noor”

  1. This is beautiful and powerful, all at once. There are many on line journals. . .do you ever read any? Have any you like? I wish I were well read, to offer you places to submit to, but I would love to see some of your work published. It is published here and read and that is wonderful! But I want more people to get to read you. :)
    Thank you for sharing!

  2. Thank you for always reading and commenting on my posts Debbie. Unfortunately, I don’t read much online – my eyes don’t seem to like it. Maybe I should try to find some of those journals. I’ll keep that in mind.

    This poem is how I have felt most of my adult life, most of the time, with varying degrees of intensity – for good and bad. Expressing it helps me understand this part of me better.

  3. Well its a great poem and this is what i have been feeling since quite some time.

  4. It’s good to know for both of us that we aren’t alone in feeling it! I have only learnt – don’t suppress, don’t fret about it, just find situations, places, people where you can find a long-term outlet for the energy! easier said than done.

Leave a Reply

 
