hum ladenge saathi

 

hum ladenge, saathi
udaas mausam ke khilaaf
hum ladenge, saathi
ghulaam ichhaon ke liye
hum chunenge, saathi
zindagi ke tukde
hum ladenge
hum ladenge
hum ladenge, saathi
udaas mausam ke khilaaf 

hathoda ab bhi chalta hai 
udaas nihaayi par
hal abhi bhi chalta hai
cheekhti dharti par
ye kaam hamaara nahi banta
sawaal naachta rehta hai
sawaal ke kandhon par sawaar ho kar
hum ladenge
hum ladenge
hum ladenge
hum ladenge, saathi
udaas mausam ke khilaaf

qatl hue jazbaat ki qasam kha kar
bujhi hui nazron ki qasam kha kar
hum ladenge, saathi
udaas mausam ke khilaaf

bandook na hui to talwaar hogi
talwaar na hui to lagan hogi
ladne ka dhang na hua to
ladne ki zaroorat baaqi hogi
hum ladenge
hum ladenge
hum ladenge
hum ladenge, saathi

udaas mausam ke khilaaf

– avtar singh ‘paash’

 

You are my brother. I may be privileged, you may be not. I may have a roof over my head, you may not. I may be respected, you may be not. My sorrows may be heard, yours carefully hidden away by the structures of this world – a world we have created together.

But we shall fight, comrade. If I do not fight for you, my heart freezes. If you do not fight for me, your soul becomes poorer, even if your body is showered with wealth. We shall fight together, brother, comrade, against the season of sorrows.

For the hopes murdered. For the eyes whose fire has been put out. For me, for you, and for all those who suffer. We shall fight, comrade. We shall fight this season of sorrows. We shall pick the pieces of shattered lives. We shall fight, comrade.

***

Yesterday, I heard this inspiring peace of music at a meeting of activists. It kindled a flame in me which I hope doesn’t die. To be more precise, it channellised a flame which was already there, but for other purposes. Hence, I ask myself – if the purpose of life is living the spiritual quest, what role does activism play in our lives, if any? From somewhere within, I get my answer. When you fight for injustice done to another, you recognise that your comrade, beyond his garbs of gender, religion, class, nationality, culture – is just who you are. Call that core at the centre of your existence what you may, but the core doesn’t change with time and space. Human beings, wherever they are, whenever they are – are the same. To fight for another, to put aside one’s own interests, to take out time and energy from one’s pursuits, and to dedicate them to another human being – this is to recognise that what unites us is that core. What makes us inhuman is to mistake the differences for the core.

It is the recognition of that core which is the goal of all spiritual activity. Activism as spirituality affirms this goal not just for oneself, but through oneself in those whose hearts are frozen by the sorrows of the world, but may be melted by the touch of our words and deeds. Hence, comrades, we shall fight this season of sorrows. And the many more to come.

~ by tdcatss on June 7, 2014.

2 Responses to “hum ladenge saathi”

  1. Your passage was as inspiring for me. We have a cultural convention next month in Kolkata, protesting against the UAPA act and other sedition acts and demanding the freedom of political prisoners suffering from the government’s exploitation and misuse of such laws. I found your blog while looking for this poem of Paash that we plan to sing in the convention. Thank you unknown comrade.

  2. Thank you :) . The UAPA is a matter I do not know a lot about. I should find out. I hope your convention goes well. Sending you a friend request on Facebook.

Leave a Reply

 
